The Nobuki Takamen Trio
November 28, 2018

1. The Circle Game
2. Helsingin taivas (Helsinki Sky)
3. 3AM
4. Fox’s Tail
5. Wonderful Days
6. A-Tico-Ta
7. Blues Alberta
8. Sjecanja za Pamcenje (Memories to Remember)
9. 25
10. Piece for Peace

All compositions by Nobuki Takamen

Nobuki Takamen / Guitar
Toshiyuki Tanahashi / Bass
Naoki Aikawa / Drums

Akihito Yoshikawa / Percussion (Track 6)

”… the best jazz guitarist Japan has ever produced…” (5 Stars)
– AllAboutJazz, Chris Mosey

”Apart from his unique phraseology, and a self-evidence for a wide harmonic landscape, he furthermore draws from a multitude of different genres and melts them into something distinctively his own.”
– AllAboutJazz, Friedrich Kunzmann

”The leader’s influences are many, but have evolved along with his style: from the early direct influence of Wes Montgomery, which is still present, to Barney Kessel and quite a few others in between. That said, in blending all these influences and inspirations Takamen has been able to distill a personal approach as well as develop considerable compositional skills.”
– The New York City Jazz Record, Marco Cangiano

”This CD is the examplar of some fo the most vibrant new sounds on guitar trio today.”
– Roberta on the Arts

”The seventh set from this post bop guitarist leaves no room for doubt…”
– Midwest Record



Live in Japan
August 17, 2016

Disc One
1. Freddie’s Mood
2. Smile
3. All Waltz
4. Gee, Seventh Avenue
5. Akatonbo (Red Dragonfly)
6. Sjecanja za Pamcenje 
(Memories to Remember)

Disc Two
1. No Easy Days
2. Jimi’s Swing
3. Homeward Bound
4. Strolling in Downtown
5. Wonderful Days
6. Blues for Riley

All compositions by Nobuki Takamen
except ‘’Akatonbo’’ by Kosaku Yamada

Nobuki Takamen / Guitar
Toshiyuki Tanahashi / Bass
Naoki Aikawa / Drums

”… This is jazz guitar trio music at its finest…”
– AllAboutJazz, Mark Sullivan


Solo Guitar
December 17, 2014

1. Someday
2. I’ll Remember Cedar
3. Blues for Riley
4. For the Stranger
5. Lullaby Without Words
6. All Waltz
7. Mr. Wyble
8. Smile
9. From Now on
10. Night Song
11. Wonderful Days

All songs composed and arranged by
Nobuki Takamen

Nobuki Takamen / Guitar

”… Takamen is a master. Beautiful solo guitar… he simply seems to bring the sun out when he plays.”
– Vintage Guitar Magazine

”… His music always swings whether taken at a medium or slow tempo, and Takamen, like Joe Pass, sounds like a complete group by himself… throughout the set invigorates the tradition of straight ahead jazz guitar…”
– The Author of ”The Great Jazz Guitarists”, Scott Yanow

”… Takamen clearly is an extremely gifted improviser and composer, and this is a most advantageous showcase for both of those talents.”
– Just Jazz, Bob Bernotas

”… What is here is totally enjoyable music, and a truly exceptional solo guitar debut from Nobuki Takamen. He’s a jazz guitarist to watch.”
– AllAboutJazz


Three Wishes
Summit Records (DCD 594) 
August 14, 2012

1. A Long Way Ahead
2. Freddie’s Mood
3. Underground Theme Song
4. Jimi’s Swing
5. Greenwich Village Sometimes
6. Three Wishes
7. Scarborough Fair (Traditional)
8. Let’s Get Five
9. Homeward Bound

All compositions by Nobuki Takamen
except where indicated

Nobuki Takamen / Guitar
Toshiyuki Tanahashi / Bass
Naoki Aikawa / Drums(2, 3, 6, 9)
Akihito Yoshikawa / Drums(1, 4, 5, 7, 8)
Hitoshi Kanda / Piano(5, 8)

”… Jim Hall meets Wes Montgomery on their way to a Kenny Burrell show…”
– Critical Jazz

Live at the Iridium
Summit Records (DCD 547)
July 13, 2010

1. Strolling in Downtown
2. 14-1
3. Smile
4. One Big Shot
5. Union Square Nobels
6. The Other Side of City

All songs composed by Nobuki Takamen

Nobuki Takamen / Guitar
Hitoshi Kanda / Piano (except 5)
John Lenis / Bass
Yutaka Uchida / Drums

”… a mature player with keen sense of composition [and] considerable technical skills…”
– Vintage Guitar Magazine


What’s New Records (WNCJ-2192)
October 22, 2008

1. C.M.G.
2. Scenes
3. One Big Shot
4. Smile
5. Like Blue
6. 3 x 4
7. Message for the Messengers
8. Nebergall Loop
9. Nine
10. From Now on

All songs composed by Nobuki Takamen

Nobuki Takamen / Guitar
Bryan Beninghove / Tenor Sax(1,6,9)
Hitoshi Kanda / Piano
Toshiyuki Tanahashi / Bass
Makoto Kikuchi / Drums

”… prodigious technique… strong and lyrical melodies akin to James Taylor’s, which sink into the mind, inviting subconscious lyric-writing from even the most casual listen.” (5 Stars)
– AllAboutJazz, Dave Major

”… he constructs his compositions with an ear to the sum of all instruments, not to highlight his own skills… ”
– The Gear Page

”… the guitarist serves up roller-coaster, angular melodies, played with care on a clear guitar, picking out one crisp note at a time, letting it ring out before moving to the next…”
– DownBeat Magazine

Bull’s Blues 
What’s New Records (WNCJ-2168)
June 21, 2006

1. Bull’s Blues
2. 14-1
3. For the Stranger
4. No Chance
5. Strolling in Downtown
6. The Other Side of City
7. After Dinner
8. Homage
9. Union Square Nobels

All songs composed by Nobuki Takamen

Nobuki Takamen / Guitar
Ro Hasegawa / Tenor Sax(1-4, 8)
Hitoshi Kanda / Piano(except 9)
Toshiyuki Tanahashi / Bass
Makoto Kikuchi / Drums

”… the compositions are engaging, and the group dynamic is never less than brilliant.”
– Just Jazz Guitar

”The tunes are moremorable and dynamic with tight arrangements and of course, great playing from all involved. … a keen sense of melody and taste…” 
– Jazz Guitar Life (Canada)


Physical CDs (with my autograph) are available for purchase. $15 ($20 for 2 disc-album) plus $3.50 shipping and handling fee (the USA). International shipping is TBA. Please contact to purchase the CD(s).

All the albums are also available for downloading on iTunes.

<As a Sideman>

secret / Mamiko Taira (2017)

New Chapter / Eva Kano (2017)

Plays Count Basie Directed by Akihito Yoshikawa /
Original Hard Jazz Orchestra (M581 Records)

HORIZON / YAZ Band (2015)

Jazz Christmas for You / Eva Kano (2014)

Four Seasons / T. Nakanishi & Keypoint (2008)

Come in From the Cold / Eric J. Smith (2007)